The 2011-2012 Committee

The Comann Eachdraigh Uig AGM was held last week in the community centre, with tea and cakes and a slide show, at which our chairman John Maciver paid tribute to our late, great friend Finlay Maciver, whose many contributions will be cherished, and whose presence will be sorely missed.  A brief report on the year’s work noted that our main efforts were in keeping the museum going, six days a week in the season, and in maintaining this website and the many enquiries that it generates. John thanked all the local volunteers who gave their time in entertaining our 2176 visitors in 2010.

A new committee was elected, namely:

John Maciver, Ardroil
Donald Maciver, Crowlista
Fin Morrison, Reef
Teen Anne Murray, Valtos
Sheila Henderson, Valtos
Domhnall Calum Morrison, Valtos
Sarah Egan, Ardroil

Bob Mears, Breanish
Hugh Henderson,  Valtos
Elspeth Logan, Valtos
Gwen Hoskins, Miavaig

These last four are new committee members and we are delighted to welcome them aboard; office bearers will be appointed at the first regular meeting.   There are a few places vacant still and we can co-opt, so past members who weren’t able to come to the AGM or new folk who’d like to join the committee are invited to make their desires known to any of the above.  We also welcome volunteers for manning the museum, doing research and in the forthcoming programme for refreshing our museum displays.

General membership fees for 2011 (£2 per person per year) are now due and a list and donations box will be available in Uig Shop from this weekend, or you can let us know if you’d like to pay another way (01851 672 456 afternoons, or by email). Membership entitles you to free admission to the museum, a vote on society business should anything ever be controversial (doesn’t happen very often) and the satisfaction of supporting our dedicated volunteers and worthy labours.