Comann Eachdraichd Uig

Long Sermons and Sharp Pen-Knives, and Baile na Cille Notes

Baile na Cille Church is in private ownership now and renovation work will start fairly soon, but with the public opening as part of Doors Open Days we’ve had an opportunity to explore the building in some detail. One of the most personal touches is the large variety of names and initials carved on the pews by (mostly) boys.

Baile na Cille Church is in private ownership now and renovation work will start fairly soon, but with the public opening as part of Doors Open Days (see also other events in Scotland) we’ve had an opportunity to explore the building in some detail.  One of the most personal touches is the large variety of names and initials carved on the pews by (mostly) boys. Here’s a selection.

%%wppa%% %%album=49%%

Meanwhile if you’d like to catch up on some Baile na Cille history, here are some notes we’ve carried before:

Ministers in Uig

Baile na Cille Cemetery

Parish of Uig in 1749

The Old Statistical Report 1796

The New Statistical Account 1833

The Viking Princess and the Seeing Stone

John Munro and the Saighdeirean Mac a’ Mhinisteir

Macgillivray’s Visit to the Old Baile na Cille Church, 1817

The Minister We Never Had

Darkness in Uig

A Rebuking in 1825

The Bequest of the Bell, 1829

Letters from Alexander Macleodbefore and after his time in Uig

David Watson and his Boundary Dispute

The Kirk Session Wonders Where the Money Went, 1866

Emily Goes to Church, 1919

Aonghas nam Beann

Upright in Uig

The Reverends Norman Morrison

Rev MacFarlane’s 25th Anniversary

Thanks to the kindness of the new owners, Brian and Miranda Gayton, the church was open to visitors for two days in September 2011, including on  Latha na Fir-Taileisg when some of the Chessmen came home.